Mount Somers, June 2011

Not a lot of climbing has been happening for me recently, at least in the alpine world.  The weather keeps foiling my plans.  But I have managed to get to Mount Somers a couple of times, and this is still a challenging place to climb, even if it is only sub-alpine and 2 hours walk from the road end. The area boasts long routes (for NZ that is) with technical footwork that make toes fail before fingers, especially on routes like Al La Weta, a Mount Somers classic which is sustained all the way to the top. I love this type of climbing, it keeps me on my toes, literally.

On my first attempt of Al La Weta (25). I sent on my 3rd attempt.  (Photo Paul Hersey)

We collected a bit of video footage during the Mount Somers trips and Shelly has put in another stellar effort at making this into a short promo film for the Backyard and Beyond project. Enjoy

Leave a Reply

