The Ethics of Claiming New Routes – A Lesson Learned

A few good people with a lot more experience than myself have pointed out that my claim of a new route on the south face of Mt Hicks is in fact a variation to Central Gullies, rather than a first ascent, mainly because Matt and I didn’t top out, i.e. complete our route to the top of the face.  I fully accept this and have changed the previous post accordingly.

I am not interested in claiming a new route on dodgy ethics or arguing what constitutes a new route, and I certainly don’t want to annoy anyone as I realise now that the South Face of Mt Hicks has a lot of history.  My motivation is purely to climb mountains by the most difficult ways possible and to get other climbers psyched on this too, hence posting my ascents on a blog (of course its for the sponsors too).  I can also be a little overzealous at times, becoming too focussed on certain things like difficult technical climbing, and forgetting about the bigger picture.  But hopefully I have learned my lesson and will remember to follow through next time.  After all, mountain climbing is about the full experience, not just the tasty bits in between.  Happy climbing.

Leave a Reply

